Verizon Media Academy Class of 2020: the industry’s brightest stars revealed

Dede Stewart

People at workshop during Verizon Media Academy 2019

SYDNEY, Australia (March 4, 2020) -- Verizon Media has today announced the 40 successful nominees who make up this year’s Verizon Media Academy Class of 2020.

The Class of 2020 was chosen by our judges from a pool of more than 200 nominations submitted from senior leaders in brands, advertising and media agencies across Australia and New Zealand. 

This year’s class features a range of future leaders from across the media, marketing and advertising spectrum including Cadreon, Kaimera, MediaCom, PHD, Woolworths and Zenith amongst others. Representing four markets across Australia and New Zealand, the delegates will be flown to Sydney for the event. 

The Class of 2020 will gather on March 25 and 26 in Sydney to attend the two day educational program which is  jam-packed with expert advice to help delegates  ‘Build Brand You’ and assist their professional development. Attendees will hear from a range of world-class speakers in sessions curated to teach creative brainstorming techniques, nurture personal wellbeing and offer handy tips to navigate their careers. 

The top 40 were selected based on their exemplary passion, ability to go above-and-beyond, active involvement in the industry, and displays of leadership.

Megan Kay, Managing Director at Zenith Melbourne who successfully nominated Tyler Owen, Senior Digital Executive for the program, commented on the process: “Zenith is very excited and proud to be involved in this year’s Verizon Media Academy. As part of our company’s commitment to investing and nurturing our future leaders, we support opportunities that will help them in their personal and professional development. 

“The Verizon Media Academy is a great way for us as senior leaders to recognise and reward our hard-working stars in not only an inspirational, but also interactive, practical way. I'm proud to support Tyler Owen  through the process and excited to see what she learns from the experience.” 

Commenting on the announcement, Managing Director of Verizon Media ANZ, Paul Sigaloff said: “I’m very proud to announce this year’s Verizon Media Academy Class of 2020. It was a difficult decision to narrow down just 40 participants, but these talented individuals have proven they are truly future leaders.

“Verizon Media takes our responsibility to foster the development of our industry’s talent very seriously which is why we're so heavily invested in maintaining such a high standard for the Academy.  We have an incredible program lined up this year and can’t wait to see the Class of 2020 in action.”


The Class of 2020:

  • Andrea Potter - PHD
  • Ankita Mehta - Starcom
  • Annett Schultz - Performics
  • Annie Bramwell - MBM
  • Billy Choi - Havas Media
  • Brittany Auchterlonie - Mad Mex
  • Brittany Wrightson - MediaCom
  • Carmen Vienings - Pearman Media
  • Caroline Seow - Ikon Communications
  • Christina Diomides - The Media Store
  • Claudia Domingues - MediaCom
  • Conor Riordan - Kaimera
  • Eliot Thompson - Half Dome Digital
  • Ella Stewart - Wavemaker
  • Erin Shaffrey - Mindshare
  • Georgina Debenham - PHD
  • Harry Ingham - UM
  • Hayden Simons - Starcom
  • Heloise Parlett - iProspect
  • Jarrod Macfarlane - Initiative
  • Jason Cole - OMD
  • Jayden Harris - Media Lab
  • Jennie Gilbert - OMD
  • Jessica Ferguson - Resolution Media
  • Josh McDonnell - Mi3
  • Karl Cheung - Zenith
  • Kate Hoare - Mediacom
  • Kate Hopkinson - MediaCom
  • Kevin van Wyk - Rocket
  • Kirsty Jury - Vodafone NZ
  • Loreli De Jesus - Qantas Trade Desk
  • Lydia Sutton - Starcom
  • Peter Madani - Cadreon
  • Rob Christian - Carat
  • Rob Ebach - Wavemaker
  • Sasha Phillips - CHE Proximity
  • Senna Spear - Spark Foundry
  • Surya Shenbagamurthy - Woolworths Group
  • Teddy Lewis - Ikon
  • Tyler Owen - Zenith